Month: July 2011

  • Jeremiah 32, Revelation and Covenant

    Today we’ll begin from the following passage and take some time to reflect on other key parts of the chapter that give this part significance and depth with respect to His promise.

    Jeremiah 32:36-41
    “Now therefore thus says the LORD, the God of Israel, concerning this city of which you say, ’It is given into the hand of the king of Babylon by sword, by famine, and by pestilence’: Behold, I will gather them from all the countries to which I drove them in my anger and my wrath and in great indignation. I will bring them back to this place, and I will make them dwell in safety. And they shall be my people, and I will be their God. I will give them one heart and one way, that they may fear me forever, for their own good and the good of their children after them. I will make with them an everlasting covenant, that I will not turn away from doing good to them. And I will put the fear of me in their hearts, that they may not turn from me. I will rejoice in doing them good, and I will plant them in this land in faithfulness, with all my heart and all my soul.”

    Some key things that should summarize this passage:
    1) God has decreed wrath against Israel
    2) He will, however, restore them to a right relationship
    3) He’s going to make a new covenant that is unique

    God has decreed wrath against Israel. As we see earlier in the chapter, Jeremiah gets word from the Lord that Zedekiah (name means “the Lord’s righteousness”), king of Judah, will fall at the hands of the Babylonians, seeing the destruction and captivity of his people. The king is outraged that a prophet would give such a word, and imprisoned him. In their day, prophets were often the ones who gave the king encouragement, wisdom, or even foresight. Jeremiah was not just being a traitor or one who curses, but rather a messenger from God. Jeremiah is putting things in the perspective of the covenant which Judah, like Israel, has broken. Jeremiah has word from the Lord, confirmed from God. God proved it with the power of a miracle, saying that his cousin will make him a real estate offer in a very particular area, and when he comes he will buy it. So his cousin came and give him an offer, and he bought it.

    This was a sign that God will restore Israel. He said that fields will be bought in this land once more. He will, however, restore them to a right relationship even greater. God says He will bless Abraham according to the covenant given to him. And by this covenant, all his descendants will be blessed.

    At this point, Jeremiah breaks out in a prayer of praise, lauding God’s awesomeness:

    “Ah, Lord GOD! It is you who have made the heavens and the earth by your great power and by your outstretched arm! Nothing is too hard for you.  You show steadfast love to thousands, but you repay the guilt of fathers to their children after them, O great and mighty God, whose name is the LORD of hosts, great in counsel and mighty in deed, whose eyes are open to all the ways of the children of man, rewarding each one according to his ways and according to the fruit of his deeds….” (v17-19)

    God is great, mighty, just, capable, loving, and astounding. And He is aware of our our actions.

    “You have shown signs and wonders in the land of Egypt, and to this day in Israel and among all mankind, and have made a name for yourself, as at this day. You brought your people Israel out of the land of Egypt with signs and wonders, with a strong hand and outstretched arm, and with great terror. And you gave them this land, which you swore to their fathers to give them, a land flowing with milk and honey. And they entered and took possession of it.” (v20-23a)

    How has He shown it? In fact, how has He revealed Himself to us? How do we know of this mighty God who is loving and capable? From the signs, wonders, outstretched arm, the name and reputation He famed, His blessings and giving of the land. In sum, how powerfully God delivered Israel out of Egypt and conquered a land full of enemies to give to them. This is the God who we know. This is the God who we are talking to. This is the God we worship. This is how God revealed Himself, and we have great reason to trust.

    It is within this perspective that he now sets the scene and casts the petition:

    “But they did not obey your voice or walk in your law. They did nothing of all you commanded them to do. Therefore you have made all this disaster come upon them. Behold, the siege mounds have come up to the city to take it, and because of sword and famine and pestilence the city is given into the hands of the Chaldeans who are fighting against it. What you spoke has come to pass, and behold, you see it. Yet you, O Lord GOD, have said to me, ”Buy the field for money and get witnesses”—though the city is given into the hands of the Chaldeans.’” (v23b-25)

    Though God was faithful, we were unfaithful. Though God showed up powerfully, we showed our powerlessness. Though God provided abundantly, we squandered it wholly. Though the demands of the covenant were small: “Obey me”, we did not and forsook every command. Hence, we have due justice poured out on us, with the dispossession of the land, the theft of the goods, the scattering of the nation, the shame of Israel’s name, and suffering loss through famine and sword. It was due. It still is due. God is just, because we were in the wrong. But God, you confuse us; You still want to give hope and bless us? How can this be?

    God basically says, “You’re right. You were evil, and you definitely will be punished. The city is lost to the Chaldeans, and it is because Judah has been evil from the start, and has now sacrificed your babies in the fire to the god Molech (whose name, I believe, means “One who rules”). This makes me sick.”

    Even so, God gives hope, despite our sin, despite the prevailing wind. He’s going to make a new covenant that is unique. This is what makes the new covenant unique: that it will be a change of heart, that we will never be lost completely; that our hearts will always have etched upon them the name of God and the demands of faithfulness.

    “And they shall be my people, and I will be their God. I will give them one heart and one way, that they may fear me forever, for their own good and the good of their children after them. I will make with them an everlasting covenant, that I will not turn away from doing good to them. And I will put the fear of me in their hearts, that they may not turn from me. I will rejoice in doing them good, and I will plant them in this land in faithfulness, with all my heart and all my soul.” (v38b-31)

    They shall be my people.
    And I will be their God.

    I will give them one heart and one way.
    Why? That they may fear me forever.
    - For their own good
    - For the good of their children after them

    This covenant will last forever
    - I will always be good to them.
    They will have fear in their hearts
    Why? That they stay by my side

    I will rejoice in their righteousness
    I will plant them in faithfulness
    With all of who I am.

    Powerful. Are you in this covenant? Do you have abiding fear? Does God rejoice in your righteousness?

  • The jeans YOU deserve!

    Here’s a video about jeans on Studio5′s site.

    I tried to find it because my girlfriend bought a pair of jeans she said was her favorite on sale. Being curious, and maybe spoiling my surprise, I checked online to find it. And I came up with this.

    “…One of the oldest and biggest problems of most women today and that is: jeans.”

    “… and I believe every girl deserves at least one awesome designer pair in their closet.”

    OK. I am going to pause that right now.

    I am sick of this language. “The ________ YOU deserve” or “Everyone who is _________ deserves a _________”.

    Fill in the blanks.

    This is a common advertising slogan. “Get the settlement YOU deserve!” or, more overt, “Get the money you deserve” for lawyers. I see it everywhere. I saw it on a billboard ad down Germantown Ave, I think it was insurance or something. Doesn’t make sense. I also hear people say, “buy one of those, you deserve it.” Or even giving me a gift, and saying “hey, you deserve it.” I’m thinking I don’t. Even my girlfriend will say about something she wants or needs that she deserves it. Advertising for schooling, “everyone deserves an education.” Or for the prom “every girl deserves an invite to the prom”. Or for grants, “everyone deserves to be a homeowner.” Or for women, “every woman deserves the wedding of her dreams.” I heard it even on a Toys for Tots commercial, “because every child deserves a gift on for the holidays.”

    TO HELL WITH ALL OF IT. For from Hell it all came, and in Hell it belongs.

    And on the road to Hell you will find yourself if you believe the slogans. Your jaw may be dropping. If we think anything otherwise, we have completely lost perspective about our situation. Some cultures know they don’t deserve $30,000+ weddings of their dreams, the lump sums awarded that make lawyers rich, the humanist university education, and some –get this– have never even heard of Prom. Get out of yourself for a moment. Transcend your greed and your pride. Transcend your self-serving you have been taught. Step out of your sickening bag flesh you call beauty — with all its irony of covering with makeup and designer denim– and find something of eternal worth. Your greed will never be satisfied. Your pride will always bring your downfall. Beauty is fleeting, though some grasp at it like chasing after the wind.

    In reality, we deserve Hell. By Hell, I mean, eternal conscious suffering in a lake of fire after death. Don’t believe me? It isn’t said by my authority. It is by the ancient wisdom of God which even now speaks to us. For by God prophets have spoken that everyone will be judged for what they have done, whether good or bad. They who are judged good are put on the right, and those on the left the bad. If you know yourself, if you “know thyself”, if you have any awareness of your past, you feel this. You know you don’t love God, or, if you do, you have rebelled against Him and depend on His forgiveness for your treachery. This isn’t like being a jerk to the guy you know from class, or doing poorly at work for your boss. This is someone else. This is the supreme God of the universe, who calls all people to worship Him. All the things He has made He deserves praise and glory from. We are made to love Him. If we don’t, we are saying “screw you” to the Maker. He has a right to be fed up with our childish behavior.

    All this “I deserve” and “you deserve” language we often hear comes from either hyperbole to get your attention, or the firm assumption that we don’t deserve Hell, we have had a hard life, and you should have better, “Because you’re worth it.” L’Oreal. We’re worth squat. This is what makes grace so beautiful. Though I was made a beautiful bike, I crashed and broke my frame; my wheel popped off and I’ve been rusting ever since. Instead of tossing me into the junkyard to bake in the hot sun forever, the bike owner came out, cleaned off the rust, souldered my cracks, gave me a new wheel. Now I can be useful for his purposes. But did I deserve it? No. It would’ve been right and expected to toss me into the trash heap. But I was rescued from that. And anyone who has any awareness of his own sin should feel this this need, this dependence too.

    So, give up your bloody “I deserve” if it is anything less than hell. You’re off your rocker. Life owes you nothing. Your employer might owe you a wage by contract, your spouse might owe you an apology. But life still owes you nothing. Give it up. Instead, ask God not to give you what you deserve, and ask Him to give you grace. His unmerited favor toward you that you could never earn, never deserve, and He freely gives to those who love Him, according to His purpose. If you do, it doesn’t mean you finally get the “one awesome designer pair in their closet, ” but it does mean you can have lasting joy that isn’t bound in stuff. Temporary possessions.

    I am sick of all this self-serving dribble. Do I deserve it, if I never hear it again? That’d be more than fine.

    Picture is copyright, all rights reserved. The link to the video again:

    http://studio5.ksl.com/?nid=58&sid=9961889

  • Initial comments on Ezekiel 16

    This is a short post on some passing comments on Ezekiel 16. When I was reading Scripture, I actually got averted from my normal reading. I am currently in 2 Corinthians and tackling other books concurrently (namely, from the Pentateuch), so when I stumbled on this passage in Ezekiel, it caught me off guard. What brought this to my attention was the heading “The Lord’s Everlasting Covenant”, which interests me, given I am trying to figure out more things about God’s covenants in general. The fact that an everlasting covenant belonging in the Old Testament is what fascinated me –not that there is no such thing in the OT, but that in the New Testament we are told that the old covenant was obsolete because the New one is greater fulfillment, greater promises, and greater cost. So, what covenant is this one, that it is everlasting? There are more than one.

    “[Y]et I will remember my covenant with you in the days of your youth, and I will establish for you an everlasting covenant.” Interesting: because of the promises he made to Israel, He is going to give them an everlasting covenant? But as I read it, I said to myself “context! I need more context!”

    This is where it gets intense. God talks about saving Israel from sure death after she, a mere infant, has been deserted in a pool of blood by her parents. He then provides for her to grow up well. Then, when she is mature and ready for romance (her breasts are formed ;] ), he adorns her to make her beautiful (with a nose-ring! ;] ) and everything is going great. They get married and consummate.

    Then she trusts in her own beauty and her own blessings, and goes to prostitute herself. This is really sad. This horrible. How could you turn on a man who does that for you? It’s utterly absurd. In ultimate betrayal, she goes out of her way to do this, taking the very things she was given as a blessing and using them to promote herself. The very beauty she was given is now used as advertising for her harlotry. She prefers the wayward man over the faithful husband.

    But then it is just pathetic. Normal prostitutes, sad as it is, have sex for money. They get compensation for their actions, since they are bartering with the men for a service. But Israel isn’t like that. She’s absolutely pitiable. She has to pay her lovers to have sex with her. She’ll spread her legs for anyone, but no one will come to her unless she gives *them* compensation. Meanwhile, they mistreat her and … get this? She offers her children to them. The children’s blood pools, and their blood is now on her head. (a reference to Israel sacrificing to Molech, I believe)

    God is outraged.

    He saved her from her deadly parents in order to bless her in the first place. Now she squanders those blessings and she slays her children. What does God do? He gather all of her lovers that they will strip her of all her adornment, all her blessings, all her pride, all which God gave to her that she misused.

    Hence, the original quote is in this context. Because He took her in her youth to be His own, He will remember that covenant; He will restore her and all her sins will be covered: “I will establish my covenant with you, and you shall know that I am the Lord that you may remember and be confounded, and never open your mouth again because of your shame, when I atone for you for all that you have done, declares the Lord God.”

    Other notes:
    The language in this passage is very graphic. VERY. If you think my post was strong, read it for yourself. I am trusting the ESV to be an adequate translation (a very, very fair assumption) of the original text. The word “whoredom” is repeated time and time and time again. Israel is not just unfaithful now and then: she has had a pattern of unfaithfulness and lewdness. She is an utter disgrace, forsaking her faultless, faithful husband. But she is His, and He will not accept her continuing this way.